09 June, 2017

REVIEW: THE FIXER by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Title: The Fixer
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: The Fixer #1
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Mystery
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release: 2015
Source: eBook
Pages: 372

// Goodreads // BookDepository // Amazon //

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather's ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess's classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

EXPECTATIONS: Okay so this book is super hyped and I am pretty sure it ended up on my TBR for this reason. I also must admit I did not really know anything about it before starting, I really need to at least find out a genre of the book before picking it up next time.

THE WORLD: Just like ours, it is a contemporary book about rich people and politics. Basically if you are not a fan of contemporary like me, this is a very boring setting. What is worse this world is already kinda unrealistic, as in teenagers get away with things they would not get away in the real world. But oh well.

CHARACTERS: Main character is Tess Kendrick and she is this annoying self absorbed teenager we have to follow till the end of the book. You see she is entitled to our pity because her parents died and her granddad who took care of her has a strong case of dementia. Therefore, Tess has to move to D.C. and live with her older sister Ivy, who of course is a horrible sister because she didn't take care of Tess when she was younger and just left her with a granddad. And of course Tess does not care about reasons, all that is matter is that Ivy left and that makes her a monster. Right...No but really, there is absolutely zero development of Tess character, like it even goes into negative. And she is extremely annoying, you have no idea. Then how wrong it would be if Tess upon starting new school does not attract attention of the most hottest guy in school and make him totally stupidly fall in love with her. But of course, simple and silent girl, not like other girls...must get attention of the one everybody else love. Blaaaah these tropes are horrible, like worst thing ever! I am so sick of them that I cannot see it past it, tbh I just really had no care whatsoever for any of the characters. For me they all could have died and I wouldn't even have blinked extra. Just really boring stereotypical all white tropes.

ROMANCE: The mousy nobody is suddenly a center of attention, the IT boy is falling for her and blah blah...not worth neither mine nor your time.

GOOD: Not really sure if I can really pin point something that was actually stand out good in this book. It was just really average do not care type of book.

BAD: I started this book in October of 2016 and it took me till March to finish it. I think it says it all.

OVERALL: Total waste of my time. I am more and more sure I and the hyped books don't get along. And the rest of the series? Ain't happening.

What do you think about THE FIXER?