18 May, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: The King Slayer by Virginia Boecker

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine. Today we are waiting for The King Slayer by Virginia Boecker!

Second and last book of The Witch Hunter duology!

Publication date: June 14th, 2016
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An action-packed and suspenseful sequel to The Witch Hunter, perfect for fans of Graceling and the Grisha Trilogy.

"I think, in time, you'll either be my greatest mistake or my greatest victory."

Former witch hunter Elizabeth Grey is hiding within the magically protected village of Harrow, evading the price put on her head by Lord Blackwell, the usurper king of Anglia. Their last encounter left Blackwell ruined, but his thirst for power grows stronger every day. He's readying for a war against those who would resist his rule--namely Elizabeth and the witches and wizards she now calls her allies.

Having lost her stigma, a magical source of protection and healing, Elizabeth's strength is tested both physically and emotionally. War always means sacrifice, and as the lines between good and evil blur once more, Elizabeth must decide just how far she'll go to save those she loves.

"[Filled] with everything a good fantasy book needs: swords, poison, black magic, and betrayal."--April Tucholke, author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, on The Witch Hunter

What do you think guys? Worth it? It's a duology so you don't have to worry about "being stuck" reading the books whether you loved them or hated them. It's a plus...

The first book, The Witch Hunter, has ratings mostly spread between 3 and 5 stars so I would say people liked it! It is also advertised for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones both of which I have heard and/or read so if you have a small gap in your reading schedule and you like to read about witches LOOK NO FURTHER

By the way that cover awfully reminds me of ACOTAR/TOG style combined with Cruel Beauty's... anyone else getting the same vibes as me?

Are you excited about The King Slayer?